Tuesday 16 July 2019 11:56 PM  |  Webmail | Member Login

News Home Media News

National Council elects its Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson

Posted on :10 May 2018

In the first sitting of the 3rd National Council, Hon’ble Member Tashi Dorji, Wangdue Phrodrang Dzongkhag was elected as the Chairperson securing "11" votes and Hon’ble Member Jigme Wangchuk, Samdrup Jongkhar Dzongkhag as the Deputy Chairperson obtaining "13" votes. Both of them served as member of the National Council in the second tenure.

A total of six members contested for the post of Chairperson and three for the Deputy Chairperson.

For the election of the Chairperson, of the 25 votes casted, the highest vote was secured by Hon’ble Member Tashi Dorji from Wangdue Dzongkhag with 11 votes and was elected as Chairperson. The Hon’ble Member Nima from Bumthang Dzongkhag and Hon’ble Member Lhatu from Tashigang Dzongkhag secured 4 votes each. The other candidates Hon’ble Member Tshewang Rinzin from Thimphu Dzongkhag, Hon’ble Member Sangay Dorji from Chukkha Dzongkhag and Hon’ble Member Pema Dakpa from Zhemgang Dzongkhag secured 2 votes each.

Likewise, 3 members contested for the post of Deputy Chairperson. The Hon’ble Member Jigme Wangchuk from Samdrup Jongkhar Dzogkhag was elected as Deputy Chairperson securing 13 votes out of 25 votes. The Hon’ble Member Ugyen Namgay from Haa Dzongkhag secured 9 votes followed by Hon’ble Member Tashi Samdrup from Trongsa Dzongkhag securing 2 votes.

As per the Rules of Procedure of the National Council of Bhutan 2014, the Secretary General presided over the election of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson and the Director read out the bio-data of each nominee in the House before the election.

The number of votes received by each candidate was also displayed on the EVM voting machine after the Secretary General declared the votes officially,

In the morning, the House commenced with the recitation of Tashigyepa prayer followed by the members taking the Oath of Office administered by the Hon. Chief Justice and venerable Tshoki Lopen from Zhung Drarshang. The members also signed the pledge for Non-affiliation to political parties


Find out who's the MP(s) for a constituency.


Find NCB Member

News & Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live & archived video..


Find Out More

Connect With the NCB

Keep up to date with what's happening at the National Council.

Contact Us

Langjophaka, Thimphu, Post Box No. 200, PABX: 00975-2-337371/337372/337374, Fax No. 325543/337158

E-mail: sonamtobgye@nationalcouncil.parl.bt